Lives of the First World War website

Lorine McGinnis Schulze of The Olive Tree Genealogy has written a blog post about a new website, Lives of the First World War. “Lives of the First World War is one of the Imperial War Museum’s major centenary projects, which looks to uncover the life stories of the men and women who served Britain and the Commonwealth during the First World War.” Imperial War Museums want to bring together the life stories and photos of more than eight million men and women who served in uniform and worked on the home front during WWI.

Lives of the First World War websiteTo find out if my grandfather was included in the database, I became a member of the site, which took all of 30 seconds. Once in, I entered my grandfather’s name in the search box and easily found his entry. All that is listed, however, is his date of birth and service number.

It was at this point I realized I need to read the Guide to Getting Started on the website or wait for Ms. Schulze’s tutorial if I want to learn how to add his story, documents, and photos.

Whether I figure out how to enter the info myself or wait, I think it will be worth it. I have several ancestors who deserve to have their life story told. My effort will not compare at all to what they endured during the war.

About Gail Dever

Gail Dever is a Montreal-based genealogist and blogger and a webmaster for the British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa.
This entry was posted in Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

