The Book of Negroes being produced as TV miniseries

After I have read a book, I usually donate it to a book sale that raises money for charity. If the story makes a deep impression on me, I keep the book, and that is what I did with Lawrence Hill’s best-selling novel, The Book of Negroes. I have also given this book as a gift and on occasion I have recommended it to slightly startled strangers who were quietly browsing in my local book store. (This book is published in the US under the title Someone Knows My Name.)

Because I so enjoyed this book, I was really pleased to read in a CBC news report that The Book of Negroes will be adapted into a miniseries for television and that shooting begins soon in Nova Scotia. The series will be broadcast in early 2015 on CBC in Canada and on BET in the US. and will star Cuba Gooding Jr. and Louis Gossett Jr.

This book is an especially good read for those who enjoy learning about history. “The novel depicts the life of Aminata Diallo — an African woman who was kidnapped by slave traders in West Africa and sent to South Carolina. She navigates her way through the American Revolution in New York, the isolated refuge of Nova Scotia and the jungles of Sierra Leone in a bid to secure her freedom.”

The Book of Negroes, written by Lawrence Hall

The Book of Negroes, written by Lawrence Hall

While on the subject of Lawrence Hill, I highly recommend his book, Any Known Blood, to genealogists and historians. The story spans five generations in Canada and the US.

About Gail Dever

Gail Dever is a Montreal-based genealogist and blogger and a webmaster for the British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

